The Wilberforce Trust traces its roots back to 1833, when the Yorkshire School for the Blind was opened in York in memory of William Wilberforce, who had died that year. The school was set up in one of York’s best-known historic buildings – the King’s Manor in the centre of York.
The Wilberforce Home for the Blind was established in York in 1968, following closure of the school.
In the early years of the 21st century the residents of the home were given the opportunity to move into their own accommodation within several houses in York, each having a rigorously trained support staff selected for their friendly approach as well as their skills and experience in supporting people with multiple disabilities; houses in Tadcaster were added later.
Wilberforce now strives to adhere to its original aims – to provide a proactive service to assist tenants and other clients to maximize their capabilities, their independence and their lives in the community.